About the Foundation

The North Carolina Legislative Black Caucus Foundation, Inc. (NCLBCF) is a 501(c)(3) organization established in 1986.  The Foundation has a 21-member board that drives our success.  About half of the NCLBCF board members are private (non-legislative) citizens, while the other half are members of the NC Legislative Black Caucus. Our goal is to provide scholarships to students at all 10 public and private Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) in North Carolina.  We have implemented sound organizational systems to ensure that the Foundation operates with the highest levels of efficiency and effectiveness.  Our aim is to spend no less than 75% of our revenues on our mission to provide students with educational scholarships.

It is the Foundation’s goal to help address the decrease in college affordability, mounting student debt and to provide opportunities for education, information and empowerment of the community.


Dr. Bobbie Richardson

NCLBCF Chairperson

Dr. Bobbie Richardson

2019 NCLBCF Board of Directors

The Honorable Bobbie Richardson, Chair
Dr. Charlene Edwards Greene, 1st Vice-Chair
Senator Paul Lowe, 2nd Vice-Chair
Dr. Lisa Hodges, Secretary
Mr. Warren H. Arrington, Jr., Treasurer
Senator Angela Bryant
The Honorable Linda Coleman
The Honorable Katie Dorsett
Representative Yvonne Holley
Mr. Jim Harrell
Ms. Lori Ann Harris

Mrs. Carolyn R. Ingram
Ms. Kathy Knight
Mrs. Helen McInnis
The Honorable Mary McAllister
Representative H. M. Michaux, Jr.
Dr. Delores Parker
Representative Garland Pierce
Senator Gladys Robinson
Mr. John White
Ms. Patricia Yancey